Massive Assault Official Forum
   
It is currently Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:40 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Game freezes at startup and ingame
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 3:36 pm 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 3:22 pm
Posts: 10
Karma: 0

Location: in yo momma
Hi,

I just downloaded the Яeta.
Started the game, saw the nice scenery, went to graphic options to check what I could do when I saw two hovercrafts (i believe) comming towards the island, I quickly closed the options windows to view what's happening (expecting a c&c:zh kinda background) saw two units pop out of the hovercrafts and then the game freezes

I've got my dxdiag.txt right here:

http://www.angelfire.com/80s/neliz2k/neliz.txt

Attempts 1/1

am gonna try to run the program again.

Can give you a list of running applications....


Last edited by neliz on Mon Mar 22, 2004 3:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 3:41 pm 
Offline
Conscript
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 2:39 am
Posts: 18
Karma: 0

Location: UK
Now thats weird :o I tested C&C: Generals (GMPT) and it had the same sort of entering screen but this is much better.. :wink:

Restart your PC then try.. DONT LOAD ANY PROGRAMS UP! :P

[Edit: Except Massive Assault Beta]

_________________
Rich!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 3:44 pm 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 3:22 pm
Posts: 10
Karma: 0

Location: in yo momma
OKay, attempt two crashes at the same point.
As soon as I exit the options screen, half a second later the game goes kaboom..

well.. not really kaboom.. it just implodes

Gonna try without Steam, Antivirus etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 3:56 pm 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 3:22 pm
Posts: 10
Karma: 0

Location: in yo momma
Okay, i'm out of it... attempt three out of three failed.
I've unloaded all programs and ran memcleaner which comes with TweakXP...

It doesn't matter if I run the intro or not nor has going in and out the options menu any effect...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 4:04 pm 
Offline
Conscript
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 2:39 am
Posts: 18
Karma: 0

Location: UK
Now thats really weird :( :o :(

_________________
Rich!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 4:13 pm 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 3:22 pm
Posts: 10
Karma: 0

Location: in yo momma
No, it would be weird if it froze randomly..

this just happens three out of three at the same point, a clear bug... I think... it should be.. maybe.. maybe it's me...

_________________
It's normal that it crashes on startup, right?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 4:14 pm 
Offline
Conscript
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 2:39 am
Posts: 18
Karma: 0

Location: UK
Nice work :P

_________________
Rich!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 3:25 pm 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 3:22 pm
Posts: 10
Karma: 0

Location: in yo momma
how long does it take to get any sort of reply?

_________________
It's normal that it crashes on startup, right?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 8:35 am 
Offline
Sea Wolf
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 8:12 am
Posts: 603
Karma: 1

Location: New York
I had that problem, I just reduced some of the graphic effects and it worked.

_________________
Never stop fighting.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2004 2:21 am 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 3:22 pm
Posts: 10
Karma: 0

Location: in yo momma
that'd be nice, but under normal circumstances I won't have any time to do it through the main->options menu since it freezes after about 3~5 seconds on the main menu...

_________________
It's normal that it crashes on startup, right?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2004 3:21 pm 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 3:22 pm
Posts: 10
Karma: 0

Location: in yo momma
Okay, I installed Catalyst 4.3.
Tried half-life (the other game that was freezing)
Those problems were gone I've played a couple of maps etc.
No problems whatsoever.
Actually they were kind of the same problems, freezing at the main menu....

This time, with the 4.3 drivers I go into the tutorial and only get to click the next button two times.
I'm pretty sure I get another 100% success rate if i try to start again.

it would be nice if a real tester or dev responded and let me know if I'm the only one or that it's a more wider available problem...

_________________
It's normal that it crashes on startup, right?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 3:09 am 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 277
Karma: 0

Location: Wargaming.Net
Massive Assault uses 100% of GPU. Absolutely most of videocards works well, hovewer some of them not.
Sometime this happen because overclock and sometime because AGP8x card is inserted into AGP4x or AGP2x mother board. Also some GPUs are defective.
Can you try to lower GPU DAC freq?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 4:32 pm 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 3:22 pm
Posts: 10
Karma: 0

Location: in yo momma
Okay,

I've tried to lower the frequency of both GPU and video memory
Turned them from 500/325 to 300/275.
As soon as I enter the game I go to the options menu and turn down all graphic options to low and off
Played three tutorial mission, they work
Went to graphics options, set everything to medium and left things that only have off/on to off.
Played another tutorial level faultless.
Went to options, turned everything to high and on except for V-Sync.
The game still runs.

Throughout the game in an underclocked state, I noticed a lot of artifacts.

Am trying to run the game now with bios default clock settings (but leaving overdrive on, upping the gpu frequency to 525Mhz.)

_________________
It's normal that it crashes on startup, right?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 4:47 pm 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 3:22 pm
Posts: 10
Karma: 0

Location: in yo momma
Okay, when I run my card at default settings, it freezes pretty quickly in-game

_________________
It's normal that it crashes on startup, right?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Karma functions powered by Karma MOD © 2007, 2009 m157y