Massive Assault Official Forum
   
It is currently Mon Dec 10, 2018 4:22 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: MAN2 DEMO crashes PC horribly
PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 1:59 pm 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 1:57 pm
Posts: 8
Karma: 0
Ls,

Just installed the steam version of the MAN2 demo. Version 2.0.263
Great gameplay, really enjoyed it, for as long as it lasted anyway.

I had downloaded a non steam demo version before but that crashed horribly a few minutre in game (or in turtorial).
So I downloaded the steam version. But this crashes my pc as well.
The game suddenly locks up in a repetative sample cycle. Then the pc reboots. Even the windows event log had nothing more to say then: windows seems to have shut down unexpectedly.

Then, just to be able to play something turn based of equal design. I downloaded the galactic assault demo, also from wargames. It has the same flaw. Suddenly, after a few minutes, it crashes the PC.

Im running windows vista ultimate on a quad core quad sli setup with 4GB.

Anybody had the same experience? And or nows what it is?
Could it be the multi processor? or the quad sli?

Highest regards,

Machiel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MAN2 DEMO crashes PC horribly
PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 3:41 pm 
Offline
Sea Wolf
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 4:14 pm
Posts: 424
Karma: 10

Location: Michigan
Don't know much about the demo but i can tell you that I have been using windows vista ultimate 64 bit for almost a year now and the game play is almost flawless--much better than when i was using xp pro. (quad core processor running at 3.3 and 6 gigs ram) Perhaps the solution is to buy the game and join our gaming community :wink:

_________________
Archers! But sir, will we not hit our own men? Yes, but we'll hit theirs too, and we have reserves!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MAN2 DEMO crashes PC horribly
PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 3:52 pm 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 1:57 pm
Posts: 8
Karma: 0
Well storm,

thank you for letting me know that your pc is running flawlessly.
That really helped.
I'm thinking about buying it but first i'd like to try the demo.

Regards,

Mac


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MAN2 DEMO crashes PC horribly
PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 3:59 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 10:31 am
Posts: 791
Karma: 18
MacShrike
Game can not cause pc reboot.
There's a problem with your OS or video/sound drivers, try update both :)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MAN2 DEMO crashes PC horribly
PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:36 pm 
Offline
Sea Wolf
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 4:14 pm
Posts: 424
Karma: 10

Location: Michigan
I was simply stating that it is probably not vista or the quad core you are running that is the problem and before i changed to the crossfire setup i am now using i was using an sli based system-also without problems- so i doubt that is your problem either

_________________
Archers! But sir, will we not hit our own men? Yes, but we'll hit theirs too, and we have reserves!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MAN2 DEMO crashes PC horribly
PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 5:25 pm 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 1:57 pm
Posts: 8
Karma: 0
:D
I was just beeing sarcastic about the fact that you were having fun while i am sobbing :lol:

Thanks for the advice.
Well all other games run fine and smooth with the same drivers.
So, be it the drivers or not, its the game thats making them fail...right?
Truthfully though. The sound drivers never worked well again after SP2.
But still....its a miserable crash.

Anyways its good to know 'we' are all having fun :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MAN2 DEMO crashes PC horribly
PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:06 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 10:31 am
Posts: 791
Karma: 18
MacShrike
You're lucky guy, only man2 crashes.

i have game crash in L4D, Team Fortress, Allods Online, Order Of War.
STALKER, MAN, Spore, L4D2 works fine.
ATI mobile Radeon+ Vista x64, latest drivers.

MacShrike wrote:
So, be it the drivers or not, its the game thats making them fail...right?

Games can't cause blue screen of death and reboot theoretically, because it is windows core fail caused by drivers or some stupid OS hotfix. That means that we can't fix that while we don't know what is wrong with drivers.

Can you send to jedy@wargaming.net latest file from "c:\windows\minidump" ?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MAN2 DEMO crashes PC horribly
PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 6:44 am 
Offline
Sea Wolf
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 4:14 pm
Posts: 424
Karma: 10

Location: Michigan
"Could it be the multi processor? or the quad sli?"
I don't think i picked up on the fact that you are running 4 video cards when i first read your post--is this correct? If so, you must have a beast of a power supply and a very good case cooling solution :wink: Are you running the 64 bit version of vista ultimate?

_________________
Archers! But sir, will we not hit our own men? Yes, but we'll hit theirs too, and we have reserves!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: MAN2 DEMO crashes PC horribly (SOLVED!)
PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 8:52 am 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 1:57 pm
Posts: 8
Karma: 0
:D Friends!

I have good and bad news.
You are all right, i mean that figuratively and literaly.
I forgot I had installed a zalman 3d monitor. Turning of the stereoscopic drivers fixed it =)
Thx for the help.
Hooray, just finished my first match. Wonderfull stuff. I'll buy this for sure.

Thats the good news.
The bad beeing that the drivers causing the problem are the nvidia 3d drivers. Wich are totaly up to date.
I will look for the minidump file and mail it to the mentioned Email.

And yes im running a beast here. Still paying it off though.
Its a pseudo quad sli I guess. I'm running a dual sli setup but the gfx cards both have 2 gpu's. So windows sees it as quad.
Powersupply I dont know. It's watercooled.
In the winter, If I put my feet behind the rig my socks get scorched :lol:
Im still running it on vista 32 though.
A bit of a shame maybe but I dread reinstalling all my games.

Highest regards,

Mac


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MAN2 DEMO crashes PC horribly
PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 4:06 pm 
Offline
Sea Wolf
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 4:14 pm
Posts: 424
Karma: 10

Location: Michigan
I wonder how windows allocates your memory since 32 bit only can "see" a little over 3 gigs(system and video combined). If i read your post correctly you have 4 gigs system and 4 gigs video for a total of 8 gigs. I could be totally wrong on this, but it would seem to me that either the system or the video is getting shortchanged when you use the 32 bit operating system. But, glad you are having fun--this is a great game and all new players are welcome in our community!

_________________
Archers! But sir, will we not hit our own men? Yes, but we'll hit theirs too, and we have reserves!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MAN2 DEMO crashes PC horribly
PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 5:12 pm 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 1:57 pm
Posts: 8
Karma: 0
Yeah I wonder what windows is doing all the time.
I dont seem to have a clue these days =)

Just got my ass kicked by Jedy playing online.
Surely he wasn't the who programmed the AI player.

What I like about this game is that it is more like chess then others like warmhammer.
I love the WH graphics but when playing you are so busy clicking you dont get to see enything.
Also the movement restrictoins are very difficult to master compared to sending some shit out like: you guys go shoot at those guys.

Anyways..

Maybe see yall online somwhere


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MAN2 DEMO crashes PC horribly
PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 6:15 pm 
Offline
Sea Wolf
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 4:14 pm
Posts: 424
Karma: 10

Location: Michigan
Real players are more difficult than the AI but you will also learn a lot more from the games with them! Your experience will be much better if you decide to buy the game--as a trial player you will find that many of the registered players will not play you. First, v6demo is not the greatest map and 2nd, if you happen to win against one of the higher ranked players it would just kill their skill rating :wink: But, that said, practice up a bit, join the community and I will give you a game if you want one :)

_________________
Archers! But sir, will we not hit our own men? Yes, but we'll hit theirs too, and we have reserves!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MAN2 DEMO crashes PC horribly
PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 7:32 pm 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 1:57 pm
Posts: 8
Karma: 0
HURRAH! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Karma functions powered by Karma MOD © 2007, 2009 m157y