Massive Assault Official Forum
   
It is currently Tue Aug 09, 2022 5:34 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 29, 2002 8:33 pm 
Offline
Levy

Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 2
Karma: 0
So I finally got MA somewhat working after upgrading to DX 9 and the latest Catalyst 9700 drivers, but now all I get is a small window, about 320x240. I cannot maximize it, and alt+enter gives me a direct3d error "Could not reset the Direct3D Device. Application must restart."

All I can see is part of the Alias input and password, but apart from that nothing else. I've been trying different driver sets and combinations with DX8.1a with no luck, any ideas?

_________________
-SiRCYRO-


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 29, 2002 8:48 pm 
Offline
Veteran

Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 73
Karma: 0
i have the total opist problem cant get it in window mode only full screen

_________________
http://homepage.ntlworld.com/nr1129/mas ... 0page.html

the new and maybe first fan page ;)
includes the latest downloads and
mite host the tounaments or atleast disply
whos doing well and whos not ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2002 5:42 am 
Offline
Levy

Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 1
Karma: 0

Location: France
me too, with the version 0.9.98 the game don't start, now I have to install the patch (0.9.101), the game start but in window mode :sad:

Image

[ This Message was edited by: spyzer on 2002-12-30 05:43 ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2002 10:16 am 
Offline
Levy

Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 2
Karma: 0
Thats exactly what I get, cant do anything with it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2002 9:04 am 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 322
Karma: 0

Location: Wargaming.Net
This problem may be solved by switching to 32bit color (both desktop and in settings.ini)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2003 10:29 am 
Offline
Levy

Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2003 7:00 pm
Posts: 2
Karma: 0

Location: Paris,France
Open the settings.ini file and replace the "1" by a "0" at the second line (windowed mode and full size mode were inverted in my ini file)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2003 6:10 pm 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 5
Karma: 0

Location: United States
I noticed this thread after I made mine....
But even after doing what you guys reccomended it still only loads to window mode about 320x480....My settings.ini after modification.....

[graphix]

;1 = For full screen; 0 = windowed. Use Right Alt + Enter to switch mode from the game
FullScreen = 1

;Screen resolution (800x600, 1024x768, 1280x1024, 1600x1200)
Width = 800
Height = 600

;Refresh rate on the above resolution mode.
;0 = default desktop value.
;BEWARE! some old monitors can be dammaged if this number is higher
;than the highest value for this monitor
RefreshRate = 60

;Color depth for screen. Recommended value is 32
ColorDepth = 32

;Texture resolution; default value = 1; for slow video card with low memory on Board
;can be changed to (2, 4, 8, 16, 32)
TexturesResolution = 1

;Texture color depth
TexturesColorDepth = 32

;All modern video cards support texture compression. This increases perfomance.
UseTextureCompression = 1

;Many video cards from Nvidia support hardware cursor. Use 0 for better perfomance
SoftwareCursor = 1

;Draw shadows for units. Switching this parameter off can dramaticaly increase perfomance
DrawShadows = 1

;Shadow level can be (0, 1, 2 or 3 ) Smaller value = nicer shadows
ShadowsLevel = 8

;Draws forest
DrawForest = 1

;Forest "density". Can be (0, 1, 2 or 3) lower value = more trees.
ForestLevel = 8

;Sea Surf.
DrawSurf = 0

;Camera limitation (for slow computers); Default values: (100.0, 400.0, 0.96, 1.57)
;To unlock camera use (100.0, 400.0, 0.00, 1.53)
CameraMinHeight = 100.0
CameraMaxHeight = 400.0
CameraMinAngle = 0.96
CameraMaxAngle = 1.57

[sound]
UseHardware = 0
Quality = 11025
3DQuality = STEREO
;3DQuality = FULL_HRTF
;3DQuality = LIGHT_HRTF

[network]
battlenet = "massiveassault.com"
battlenet_port = 6005

Both my desktop settings, and the settings.ini file are set to 32 bit. Still windowed and like the one in my thread, and this one. Fux0rd....We need a patch to the patch.

[ This Message was edited by: StealthMode on 2003-01-02 18:13 ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2003 9:57 am 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 11
Karma: 0
I hope patch 103 will resolve that issues (our team doesn't meet'em at all, so we can't check if it's fixed now, but some steps was made).
For now check latest drivers for your videocard, and make sure to have dx8.1 or higher installed.
New patch will output more info to "ma.log", so make sure to post it if you still have problems, also include OS version,videocard description(chipset,videomemory amount,driver version), "settings.ini", and OS desktop resolution/color depth.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2003 10:05 am 
Offline
Conscript

Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 5
Karma: 0

Location: United States
Any word on a potential release (tentative release date of the newer patch (103)) ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2003 11:23 am 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 277
Karma: 0

Location: Wargaming.Net
I think we will ready to upload new patch on monday or tuesday


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Karma functions powered by Karma MOD © 2007, 2009 m157y